Header background image Second header background image Background image

Arsenal W.F.C.

The Arsenal Women’s Football team was founded in 1987 by Vic Akers, who during a 22-year stint as manager led the team to a stunning 33 major trophies and revolutionised the women’s game in the UK.


Arsenal won their first trophy – the Premier League Cup – in 1992, and followed that up by winning a domestic treble the following season. 


Akers’ total haul included three domestic trebles, 12 Premier League titles, 10 FA Cups and 10 League Cups. There was also a historic campaign a decade ago in which Arsenal won an unprecedented quadruple, becoming the first – and so far only – British team to claim the UEFA Women’s Cup (before it was rebranded as the Women’s Champions League).


That was a truly unique season. Arsenal won all 22 of their league games, scoring 119 goals and conceding just ten, sweeping all before them in the cups to be crowned European champions after beating Swedish side Umea 1-0 in a two-legged final. If that wasn’t enough, Arsenal won another two trophies that season: the now-defunct Community Shield and London County FA Women’s Cup.


That historic campaign came in the middle of a spell of unprecedented success during which Arsenal won nine consecutive league titles.


The current squad is an exciting blend of youth and experience, featuring 10 different nationalities and young stars who have come through the ranks.