Header background image Second header background image Background image

New York Yankees

The New York Yankees are an American professional baseball team based in the Bronx. The Yankees  compete as a member of the American League. The Club began playing in Baltimore in 1901 before moving to New York City in 1903 and being known as the Highlanders™. The Highlanders™ were officially renamed the Yankees in 1913. The Yankees have won twenty-seven World Series ® titles – the most of any team in Major League Baseball ®. The team is owned by Yankee Global Enterprises, an LLC controlled by the Steinbrenner family.  The new Yankee Stadium was built adjacent to the original ballpark and completed for the 2009 season.